Theft

Theft Defense Lawyer in Los Angeles

If you are facing theft charges in Los Angeles, Riverside, San Bernadino, or in Orange County, get a defense you can trust from the Dixon Justice Center. Our attorney has more than 30 years of experience representing individuals in a variety of cases. In addition to our depth of experience, we are compassionate toward clients, taking care to hear your goals and concerns. To begin building your defense, schedule a free consultation with our Los Angeles theft crime lawyer today. 

Call us at (833) 521-0156 or contact us online.

Award-Winning Defense Attorney

Here to Give You the Results You Need

Los Angeles Theft Defense Attorney You Can Trust

At the Dixon Justice Center, our clients can trust us with their defense. 

Here are three reasons why: 

  • Our attorney has more than 30 years of experience defending clients against all kinds of charges. With that kind of legal experience, you can be confident your lawyer is going to provide you with counsel and advocacy you might not get anywhere else. 
  • When we take on clients, we treat them with compassion. Facing charges is stressful, and the last thing anyone would want is a lawyer who appears to not care about their client and their case. At the Dixon Justice Center, you will not have to worry about having an unsympathetic or inattentive lawyer. 
  • We will do all that we can for your case from day one. Our attorney has a reputation of working hard for our clients, and we have earned this by going to great lengths to work with you from the moment you retain our firm to build your defense. 
  • “When talking to Ronda, we didn’t jump right into legal discussions she took the time to give me advice about my situation in general.”
/

Theft Crimes in California

Under the umbrella of theft crimes there are a wide range of charges. Generally, these crimes involve taking another person’s property without their permission and intending to deprive the owner of that property permanently. The penalties for theft can range from infractions to felonies, and the charges often depend on whether the defendant has a criminal history as well as the value of the item(s) or services in question.

Below are California’s theft crimes and their penalties. 

Shoplifting

The state of California defines shoplifting as intentionally entering a business to steal products that amount to fewer than $950 in value. For a first offense, shoplifting is usually a misdemeanor. The prosecution, however, can pursue more severe charges if a person has a prior criminal record that includes theft crimes, or if they have been convicted of a felony. The fines and possible jail time for a shoplifting conviction are $1,000 and 6 months, in addition to possible probation and restitution for the victim of the theft. 

Petty Theft

State law maintains that petty theft is intentionally taking money, labor, or property from another person. Petty theft also includes defrauding a person of these same things. As is the case for shoplifting, whatever the prosecution alleges the defendant has stolen or defrauded must not exceed $950. Except in cases where the theft happened in conjunction with another crime, such as assault, petty theft crimes are punished as misdemeanors. The penalties for petty theft are the same as for shoplifting. 

Grand Theft 

Grand theft includes identical actions as petty theft and shoplifting, but the amount of property, money, or labor that the prosecution alleges the defendant stole has to exceed $950. This type of charge is what is called a “wobbler,” which means it can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. As is the case with all theft charges, a person’s criminal record and the value of what was allegedly stolen determines the severity of the charges. Misdemeanor grand theft can result in 12 months in jail, while a felony conviction can mean up to the 3 years in state prison. Both levels of charges result in fines and victim restitution, in addition to possible supervised or unsupervised probation. 

First Degree Burglary 

First degree burglary involves unlawfully entering a person’s home or residence with the intent to steal items of any value. This charge is a felony and can result in penalties of up to six years in prison, in addition to fines and victim restitution. First degree burglary is a strikable offense in the state of California. The strike system requires a person to serve 25 years to life in prison if they are convicted of 3 or more strikable offenses. 

Second Degree Burglary 

In contrast to first degree burglary, second degree involves unlawfully entering someone’s property that is not a home or other type of residence. Examples of this include breaking into a car or a storage unit to steal someone’s personal property or entering a business after hours and taking product. As a wobbler charge, a defendant can face a misdemeanor or felony. These charges could result in anywhere between a year in jail to three years in prison, as well as fines, restitution, and probation. 

Embezzlement 

The state defines embezzlement as when an employee of a business steals money or property from the company. Depending on the amount the prosecution alleges the defendant stole, they can bring felony or misdemeanor charges. A felony conviction can result in three years in prison. Misdemeanor charges vary based on the stolen amount. For cases that deal with fewer than $950, a defendant faces 6 months in jail. In cases where the amount is above this number, a defendant faces one year in jail. Each of these charges carries significant fines, restitution, and possible probation. Also, these charges almost always result in an employee’s termination. 

Contact Us

For a Free Case Evaluation

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.